the pumpkin spice latte

My sister asked me this week about my thoughts on the pumpkin spice latte. I will begin my answer with a fact and then explain why I feel this way.

The fact is, I don’t hate pumpkin lattes. *gasp* Their very existence does, however, drive me absolutely insane.

I get it. It’s fall. The wind is crisp; the leaves are changing; the mosquitos are dying- the season is magical. I like to celebrate this beautiful time of year by eating an embarrassing amount of soup and roasting marshmallows over a fire in my back yard. Others need to fill their bellies with pumpkin flavored beverages with obsessive enthusiasm. I respect that.

At the core of my pumpkin latte frustration is that it fuels the same sugar obsession I discussed a few weeks ago. If you can be honest with yourself and admit that you are craving the pumpkin flavored syrup, not the coffee it is masking, I’ll be proud of you. In a similar way, I often announce that I’m craving Chickfila sauce. Not because I don’t also love those nuggets, but if I’m being honest with myself, I crave that smoky honey mustard flavor.

Admittedly, I do hate pumpkin lattes a little bit. Mostly because approximately 1000 people ask for one in the shop I work at every day. When I break the news to them that we are not, in fact, Starbucks and we do not carry a pumpkin spice latte, I watch the blood rise to their cheeks, their eyes well with tears, and their teeth clench in anger. For this reason, I hate that the pumpkin latte exists. If you are not at a Starbucks location, take caution when approaching the counter. Go ahead and accept that there is a distinct possibility that what you crave may not be available and open your mind to alternatives. I recommend getting a latte with honey, vanilla and cinnamon sprinkled on top. It may not taste like your grandmother’s pumpkin pie has been melted down and poured into your latte, but its still a tasty fall treat.

Leave a Reply

